Queen Mary awarded Order of the Dannebrog

UN Geneva/CC/Flickr/Violaine Martin

King Frederik has awarded Queen Mary with the Order of the Dannebrog for his birthday.

Queen Mary was made Grand Commander of the Order of the Dannebrog on 26 May, the highest rank of the order which is only granted to royals.

The Queen was granted the same Grand Cross worn by her late father-in-law, Prince Henrik. It was carefully restored and had the King’s monogram added before it was presented to Mary.

Eight people are allowed to be Grand Commander at once, and Denmark currently has seven with the addition of Queen Mary. The other Grand Commanders are King Frederik, Queen Margrethe, Prince Joachim, Princess Benedikte, King Carl Gustaf of Sweden, and King Harald of Norway.

The Order of the Dannebrog was created in 1671, but women were not allowed as members of the order until 1951. Previously, the Royal House awarded the Grand Commander Cross to certain royal women as a special gesture.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

About the Author

Brittani Barger
Brittani is from the United States and has been researching, writing and reporting on the royals for over a decade. Successfully gaining exclusives and interviews with royals across the globe, Brittani left her role as an editor for another news site to help bring you Royal News. She's been seen on BBC World, WION News and other news programs to discuss the royal families.

Be the first to comment on "Queen Mary awarded Order of the Dannebrog"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.